Welcome to Pat's Notes from The Shore

Happy New Year!

MOM’S TRADITIONAL IRISH NEW YEAR’S EVE

You know how husbands are when you touch their newspaper, therefore, I very rarely read the Star-Ledger. But everyone once in a while, I get this sudden urge or intuition to read the paper anyway. When this happens, I always find something important and relative to my life. This New Year’s Eve, my Irish intuition led me to the horoscope page. If you’re a Virgo, listen up.

Rewrite a book; question existing methods. A friend comes through for you when you need it. Clear away excessive material items to create mental space. Your passion triggers others’ apathy.

Now every New Year’s Eve, as a child and young adult, I have watched my Mom clean, food shop, cook, make sure all the laundry was done and the bills were paid. It seemed a true superstitious Irishman, or Irishwoman in this case, believed that if all these things were done on the first day of the year, they would be done all year long.

After marrying and acquiring my own home, I followed the tradition myself for thirty-four years.

But not this year. This year, the dirty laundry sat in hamper, the fridge is practically bare, I still have to pay my dues to writers’ organizations (Hubby paid the other bills), and the dust is still on the furniture. Heck, the kitchen floor is a mess from all the wet feet tracking in from shoveling snow.

So what did I do on New Year’s Eve? I wrote! I completed a first draft on a non-fiction story, this article, a short story, and a long letter to a friend far away.

Yes, my bills in the past have always been paid, I’ve never wanted for food, I always had something clean to wear and the house was clean enough to be healthy and messy enough to be happy.

I guess there must be some truth to this Irish tradition stuff so I should always have something to write about this year, as well as lots of time to write.

Now all I need are a few superstitious, Irish editors who need something to publish all year.

Pat Marinelli’s short stories can be found in the Crime Scene: New Jersey and Snowbird Christmas anthologies.

Comments on: "Happy New Year!" (8)

  1. I love this post. And funny, my mom called me today and ran through her list of, the bills are paid, the house is clean, the shopping is done.

    Me, just the house. Was gonna do the bills but then I realized I wanted to have the money in the bank for the New Year.

    Happy 2015 with a great big side of boogie boogie.

    • I laughed at the money line. I should have done that also, but instead I transferred funds to pay my Visa but won’t pay it until later. I just wanted my end-of-the-year statement to be accurate.

  2. Other Pat! I don’t know how it is that I didn’t know you were a writer, too! Happy New Year to you!

  3. I gave up on all the anxiety-producing superstitions. Have fun!

Comments...

